Planning Commission


  • 6:30 pm
  • 1st Monday of every month (with holiday exceptions)
  • City Hall-Council Chambers
    6070 Central Avenue, Portage, IN, 46368

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


  • Melissa Weidenbach, Mayoral (R)
    Term expires: 2025
  • Tom Cherry, Mayoral (R)
    Term expires: 2024
  • Sam Laboy, Mayoral (D)
    Term expires: 2025
  • Paul Ciesielski, Park Board
    Term expires: 2023
  • Gina Giese-Hurst, City Council
    Term expires: 2023
  • Denise Little, Board of Works
    Term expires: 2023
  • Scott McClure Legal Counsel
  • Charles Thompson, City Engineer/Abonmarche
    Term expires: 2023
  • John Harrison, Mayoral (R)
    Term expires: 2023
  • Victure Mendoza, Mayoral (D)
    Term expires: 2024


The primary duty of the Planning Commission is to develop and recommend to the City Council a plan for the future of the community and to approve development plans and proposals from all entities, public and private.

Under Indiana law, plan commissions are responsible for the following:

  • Approving development plans.
  • Approving or denying proposals to subdivide land, based upon compliance with the subdivision control ordinance.
  • Assigning street addresses.
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the text of the zoning ordinance or subdivision control ordinance.
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the zoning map (rezonings).
  • Preparing a comprehensive plan.
  • Preparing a zoning ordinance and a subdivision control ordinance

The Planning Division of the Department of Planning and Community Development acts as the Commission's administrative arm, providing the long and short-range planning services for the City of Portage such as reviewing development plans and guiding developers through the application process. The Department coordinates citizen input and development needs with urban planning best practices to produce guidelines for future growth and development in Portage.


  • 4-year term, 9 members
    • 5 citizens (with a minimum of 2 from each political party) appointed by Mayor
    • 1 annual appointed by BOW
    • 1 annual appointed by Council
    • 1 annual appointed by Park Board, Engineer by title