City of Portage, Indiana

We are a community of hard working people with a commitment to keeping our city safe, clean, and prosperous.


Planning Commission

The primary duty of the plan commission is to develop and recommend to the City Council a plan for the future of the community and to approve development plans and proposals from all entities, public and private. 
Under Indiana law, plan commissions are responsible for the following:
  • Preparing a comprehensive plan.
  • Preparing a zoning ordinance and a subdivision control ordinance
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the text of the zoning ordinance or subdivision control ordinance.
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the zoning map (rezonings).
  • Approving or denying proposals to subdivide land, based upon compliance with the subdivision control ordinance.
  • Approving development plans.
  • Assigning street addresses.
The Planning Division of the Department of Planning & Community Development acts as the Commission's administrative arm, providing the long and short range planning services for the City of Portage such as reviewing development plans and guiding developers through the application process. The Department coordinates citizen input and development needs with urban planning best practices to produce guidelines for future growth and development in Portage. 
Plan Commission meetings are held on the 1st Monday of each month (w/Holiday exceptions) at 6:30 pm at the Portage Police Station, upstairs meeting room.


4 year term, 9 members:  5 citizens (w/minimum of 2 from each political party) appointed by Mayor, 1 annual appointed by BOW, 1 annual appointed by Council, 1 annual appointed by Park Board, Engineer by title. 

Cary Gunning Mayoral (D) 2021
Austin Bonta  Mayoral (R) 2021
Luke Weinman Mayoral (R) 2023
Kevin Witherspoon
Mayoral (D) 2024
Tom Cherry Mayoral (D) 2024
Denise Little Board of Works  2021
Gina Giese-Hurst City Council 2021
Mike Hill Park Board 2021
Charles Thompson City Engineer 2021
Scott McClure Legal Counsel  

 The DRC is a sub-committee of the Planning Commission with the technical expertise to review proposed projects in detail and make recommendations to the Planning Commission. The activities of the DRC are described below.

(a) Review and approve site plans.
(b) Review and make recommendations to the plan commission regarding primary and secondary plats.
(c) Other duties as assigned by the plan commission, including, but not limited to, reviewing requests for annexation, change of zoning, and planned developments.

DRC Membership

Kurt Knutsen - Planning and Zoning Sandy Kolb - City Project Manager
Chris Kender - Fire safety and Inspections AJ  Monroe - Director of Planning & Community Development Charles Thompson - Engineer
David Littleton - Sanitary and Stormwater Doug  Sweeney - Building Commissioner Austin Bonta - Plan Commission Rep

Development Reviewer - City Staff:

Kurt Knutsen

Contact Us

Kurt Knutsen,
Development Review Planner

City Hall
(More about City Hall)
6070 Central Ave
Portage, IN 46368
Get Directions

  • Assistant: (219) 764-5671
  • Staff Directory
  • Office Hours:
    Mon-Fri 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM Meetings are held on the 1st Monday of each month (w/Holiday exceptions) at 6:30 pm at the Portage Police Station, upstairs meeting room.

In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Info