City of Portage, Indiana

We are a community of hard working people with a commitment to keeping our city safe, clean, and prosperous.


Fire Merit Board

The  Fire Merit Board meets on the third Monday of each month at 5:00pm.

4 year term, 5 members: 2 appointed by Mayor (1 from each political party), 2 appointed by Fire Dept. (1 from each political party), 1 appointed by Council.


James D. Hall (R) Chairman

Laurie Santos(D)

Tom Boyd (R)

Randi Riley 

City Council Liaison Members

Contact Us

In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Info