City of Portage, Indiana

We are a community of hard working people with a commitment to keeping our city safe, clean, and prosperous.

Contact:

Police Department

 

Mission Statement

The Portage Police Department is dedicated to working with all of its citizens in fighting crime, defending human rights, protecting life and property, and making our community safe for all.  The public and visitors alike will find our officers to be courteous, dedicated professionals willing to help in any way they can. 

The Portage Police Department was established in 1959 with five original officers and was located at 5770 Central Ave. The Portage Police Department moved to 2693 Irving Street in 1967, and finally moved to its current location at 6260 Central Ave. 
The Portage Police Department is comprised of 67 full-time officers, 8 clerical staff members, animal control and code enforcement.  In addition, we have the following special units and assignments: 
  • Swat
  • K9
  • Crash Team
  • Porter County MEG
  • Porter County Interdiction Team
 
Seal                                                                 

Current Police Staff

  • Chief of Police – Michael Candiano                                    mcandiano@portage-in.com 
  • Assistant Chief of Police – Ted Uzelac                                tuzelac@portage-in.com
  • Detective Major – Joseph Reynolds                                    jreynolds@portage-in.com
  • Captain of Administrative Services - Keith Hughes            khughes@portage-in.com
  • Patrol Captain - Mark Monks                                              mmonks@portage-in.com
  • Captain of Support Services- Aaron Chinn                        achinn@portage-in.com 
  • Public Information Officer - Sgt. James Maynard              jmaynard@portage-in.com
  •                                                   

Looking for benefit information? Follow the below links:

Current Police Officer Benefits

Retired Police Officer Benefits

External Links

Crime Reports
SpotCrime
Porter County Sex Offender Registry 

 
facebook 
Like our Facebook Page

Contact Us

Mike Candiano,
Police Chief

6260 Central Ave
Portage, IN 46368
Get Directions

  • Phone: (219) 762-3122
  • Fax: (219) 763-6531
  • Staff Directory
  • Office Hours:
    Clerical Hours: Mon-Fri 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Saturday:8:00 AM - Noon (2 Saturdays a month - dates vary)

In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Information